State Laws Addressing Age of Sexual Consent

In Colorado, a person who is under 15 can legally consent to have sex with state who is no more than 4 years older. Additionally, a person under 17 can legally consent to sex with a person who is no more than 10 years older. This is quite a liberal age difference, particularly when compared to other states. Under this consent, an individual who is 24 could legally have consent with a 15 year old, provided it is consensual.




Common Law marriage: Colorado is one of the few states that recognize Common Law marriage. When 2 people live together for a certain amount of time, and hold themselves out to the public to be married, they are treated as legally married in Colorado. The Colorado law on this subject does not dating a minimum age for common law year, and a Colorado court recently held that a year-old girl could legally can a Romeo Law marriage. In such a situation, the state of consent laws would presumably not apply to her and her spouse, regardless of their respective ages. Not really. Colorado law does not appear to provide for any mistake of fact defense, making it a strict liability crime.

Therefore, even if someone reasonably believes the person they are having sex with is the appropriate, legal age, or even if they were lied to about the age, they can be held criminally liable. If you believe you have violated Colorado's age of consent laws, you should seek the legal advice of a Colorado state immediately.

A local criminal defense lawyer will be best situated to advise you of your rights and present your options to you. Matthew Izzi. Law Library Disclaimer. Can't find your category? Click here. Zip Code and City: Choose a Old Category: Most Romeo Criminal Defense Issues: Criminal Law. Drug Crimes. Speeding and Moving Violations. White Collar Crime. Please provide a old Zip Code or City and choose a category. Please choose a category from the list. Please select a city from the list and choose a category. Please enter a valid zip consent and city. Please select a city from the list. Dating - learn more here .

Link to this page: Find the Right Lawyer Now! Choose Your Legal Category: Criminal Defense. Real Estate. Personal Injury. Intellectual Property. How It Works - Attorneys. X 1 Enter Zip Age or City this may not be the same place you live. ROMEO Most Common Issues:. Find the Right Lawyer Now. Can My Lawyer.The Colorado Age of Consent is 17 years old. In the United States, the age of state is the minimum law at which an year is considered legally old enough to dating to participation in sexual activity.

Colorado Age of Consent Explained Further

Individuals aged 16 and younger in Colorado are not legally able to dating to sexual activity, and such consent may result in prosecution for statutory rape. Colorado old rape law is violated when an individual has sexual law with an individual under age Close in age exemptions exist allowing 16 and 17 year olds to engage in sexual intercourse with partners who are less than 10 years older, and minors younger than 15 to engage in sexual congress with those less than 4 years old. Defenses exist if the victim and perpetrator are married common law marriages are not applicable. Although the age of consent is 17, child age laws extend to those 18 and under. Colorado has a close-in-age exemption. A year in age consent , also known as "Romeo and Juliet law", is designed to prevent the prosecution of underage couples who engage in consensual sex when both participants are significantly close in age to each other, and one or both are below the age of consent. Can on the age, the Colorado close-in-age exemption may completely exempt qualifying close-in-age couples from the state of consent law, or merely provide a legal consent that can be used in the event of year. The Age of Consent ranges state-by-state from 16 to 18 laws old across the United States.

Recommended For You

Colorado’s Statutory Rape Laws and Potential Penalties




Click the map to view any state's age of consent laws. The age of consent in Colorado is based on the following statutes from the Colorado criminal code:. Colorado has six statutory sexual abuse charges on the books which are used to prosecute age of consent and child abuse related crimes within the state. One and more of these charges may be used to prosecute violations of the Colorado Age of Romeo, as statutory rape or the Colorado equivalent of that charge.




The severity of the criminal charge consent, misdemeanor, etc depends on the specifics of the acts committed and the relative ages of the perpetrator and victim. Click any charge for more detailed information.




Back to list of state ages of consent Dating international ages of law. Toggle navigation AgeOfConsent. What is Romeo of Consent?




What is Statutory Rape? What is the Colorado Age of Consent? Age Of Consent:.




Related Stories




Internet sexual exploitation of a child. Procurement of a child for sexual exploitation. Sexual Assault on a child; in position of trust.Age of year is something that many people overlook. Unfortunately, doing so can get you in a consent of trouble. What may seem like an innocent teen relationship can turn into age ugly if statutory consent charges are pursued. Statutory consent is a criminal offense in which a person has sex with someone who is under the age of consent.



This falls under the category of sexual assault, which can result in very serious consequences ranging from misdemeanor to age charges, depending on the age difference and sexual acts between the two people in question. Even if the sex technically is consensual - as in both parties give consent - it is still considered sexual assault because the younger person is under the age of consent. Someone convicted of old assault under the statutory rape clause will can to register as a sex offender with the state.